Founder: Prof. Dr. S. B. Mujumdar, M. Sc., Ph.D. (Awarded Padma Bhushan & Padma Shri by President of India

SMCW-SUHRC/Committee/26/2025

Date-8th February 2025

Bio-Medical Waste Management Committee

This Committee was constituted to ensure that bio-medical wastes are segregated at source, and disposed of safely, legally, and in compliance with all applicable regulations by the <u>Maharastra Pollution Control Board / CPBP</u>. The Biomedical Waste Committee of SMCW was constituted in accordance with Bio-medical Waste Management Rules 2016 along with notification of the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change dated 19th Feb 2019. Hence, this may be called Bio-Medical Waste Management (Amendment) Rules 2019.

Statutory Composition

The Bio-Medical Waste Management Committee of SMCW & SUHRC shall consist of (As per Section 30 of NMC Act 2019).

- 1. Medical Superintendent-Chairman
- 2. Dy. Dean Administration- Member
- 3. 01 x Professor/Associate Professor Phase-1 Member
- 4. 01 x Professor/Associate Professor Phase-2- Member
- 5. 01 x Professor/Associate Professor Phase-3-Member Secretary

Current Composition

Sr. No.	Name	Designation	Position in Committee
1.	Dr. Prasad Bhanap	Medical Superintendent	Chairperson
2	Dr. Bharati Sharma	Professor & Head, dept. of Orthopaedics	Member
3	Dr. Veena Purandare	Professor Dept. of General Medicine	Member
4	Dr. Reshma Patil	Professor & Head, dept. of PSM	Member
5	Dr. Pankaj Bansode	Professor & Head, dept. of General Surgery	Member
6	Dr. Meenakshi Bhakare	Associate Professor & Head, Dept. of Respiratory Medicine	Member
7	Ms. Jessy Bhide	Dy Nursing Superintendent	Member
8	Brig. Gopi Iyer	Head Administration	Member
9	Mr Mahesh Jawedkar	Manager, Statutory Compliances & Medicolegal Cell, MS Office	Member
10	Dr. Ketaki Pathak	Professor Dept. of Microbiology	Member Secretary

The committee will function for 1 year. The committee will function with immediate effect.

Terms of References: The primary objectives of the Bio-medical Waste Committee include-

- 1. The committee prepares an **annual report** of the Biomedical waste management at SMCW & SUHRC.
- 2. The committee ensures information, education, and Communication (IEC) activity acts in SMCW & SUHRC.
- 3. The committee prepares and updates the **manual** of Biomedical waste management.
- 4. To ensure **statutory compliance** as per Maharashtra Pollution Control Board (MPCB).
- 5. To optimise treatment and disposal methods by efficient management practices, and providing cost-effective services to the hospitals.

Meeting Frequency: Quarterly in a year

Quorum: A quorum of 60% is necessary for the committee to meet, including the chairman, the member secretary, and other members. The members must assign their representative in case of their unavailability.

<u>Minutes of Meetings (MoM)</u>: The Member Secretary is responsible for maintaining, and uploading the link of **Minutes of Meetings (MoM)**, and circulating the MoM in the approved format.

Action Taken Report (ATR): The member secretary will update, upload in the link of SMCW & SUHRC Minutes of Meetings (MoM), and circulate the ATR before the commencement of the next meeting.

No business transaction will be done during the proceedings of the committee

॥वसुधव कुटुम्बकम्॥
DEAN
SMCW & SUHRC

Copy to:

- 1. PA to Hon. Chancellor, SIU
- 2. PA to Hon. Pro Chancellor, SIU
- 3. Vice Chancellor, SIU
- 4. Dean FoMHS
- 5. Registrar, SIU

Dean Lt. Col. (Dr.) T Vijaya Sagar

Dean

Symbiosis Medical College for Women Gram-Lavale, Tal-Mulshi, Dist-Pune-412115.